There is a tradition of Canadian poets writing poems titled “Sex at 31” when they are 31 years of age. This poem is not titled Sex at 31 and contains a quote from the film 10 Things I Hate About You which I saw precisely half my life ago.

 

Accept it

when it’s almost over

 

Focus.

 

I know you can be overwhelmed, and you can be

underwhelmed, but can you ever just be whelmed?

 

Again I’m asked if I feel I can express myself?

 

Again, a Russian jet is reckless.

 

Again I promise you a love poem.

Leave a Reply

